In Communion with the Christians of Iraq

(h2Onews 16/11/2010) They prayed for the Church and for Christians in Iraq. Thousands of people gathered in Bethlehem, in the church of St. Catherine, to remember the innocent victims of the Oct. 31st massacre by Al-Qaeda militants. The attack in the Syrian Catholic Cathedral of Our Lady of Salvation in Baghdad was one of the worst atrocities against Christians since the fall of Saddam Hussein.


Celebrating the Eucharistic liturgy in the Syriac rite, Mgr. Grégoire Pierre Melki, Exarch of the Patriarchate of Antioch of the Syrians, remembered the 58 victims, including women, children and three priests. Concelebrants included two Iraqi Franciscan friars. Also present were the Pope’s representative to the Holy Land, Archbishop Antonio Franco, bishops of the Holy Land and their representatives, about forty priests, and Orthodox, Syrian, Greek and Armenian bishops and priests.

Sitting in the front row were two ministers from the Palestinian National Authority, in addition to the mayor of the city. Many Palestinians are a mix of Syrians, Iraqis, Lebanese, Egyptians, and Jordanians. Those present were Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant … or rather all were, at that moment, during the intensity of their recollection, Christians of Iraq, or perhaps just Christians of the Middle East, ranging between faith, hope, uncertainty about the future of their presence in their respective lands.

“This Mass gave me the impression that Christians, wherever they are, are in fact united. Especially when it comes to events such as this in Baghdad,” said Msgr. Melki.” We feel united – everyone has followed with sadness the news from Baghdad and wanted to say to each other that we are with the Christians of Iraq. ”

At the end of the celebration, after reading the message of President Abu Mazen, the crowd gathered in the square of the town hall, opposite the Basilica of the Nativity, holding candles and placards condemning all forms of terrorism.

Bishop Grégoire Pierre Melki, Exarch of the Patriarchate of Antioch of the Syrians: “We prayed with the martyrs, we prayed for the injured, their churches, for their families. But in general we prayed for all Christians of Iraq. And not just for Christians, but we also prayed for Iraq.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Verbunden mit den Christen im Irak

(h2Onews, 16/11/2010) Sie beteten für die Kirche und die Christen im Irak. Tausende von Menschen hatten sich in Bethlehem in der Kirche der Hl. Katherina versammelt. Groß war die Anteilname für die unschuldigen Opfer des Massakers vom 31. Oktober, das von Al-Qaida Milizen vor der syrisch-orthodoxen Kathedrale Unserer Lieben Frau von Bagdad verübt worden war. Es war einer der schlimmsten Angriffe gegen Christen seit dem Sturz des Regimes von Saddam Hussein.

Mit einer Eucharistiefeier im syrischen Ritus feierte Msgr. Grégoire Pierre Meki, Exarch des Patriarchats von Antiochien der Syrer die Gedenkfeier der 58 Opfer, darunter Frauen, Kinder und drei Priester. An seiner Seite waren während der  Zelebration auch zwei iranische Franziskanerbrüder. Die Liturgie wurde auch von dem Gebet des apostolischen Delegaten, Msgr. Antonio Franco, dem größten Teil der Ordinariate des Heiligen Landes oder ihrer Repräsentanten und 40 Priestern, vielen Bischöfe, orthodoxen, syrischen, griechischen und armenischen Priestern unterstützt.

In der ersten Reihe der Kirche der hl. Katerina saßen neben dem Bürgermeister der Stadt auch zwei Minister der nationalen palästinensischen Regierung. Unter die  vielen Palästinenser mischten sich Syrer, Iraner, Libanesen, Ägypter und Jordanier. Ob Katholiken, Apostolische, Orthodoxe oder  Protestanten …sie alle waren in diesem Augenblick der Intensität und der Sammlung Christen des Irak, oder vielleicht nur die Christen des Mittleren Ostens, schwankend zwischen Glaube, Hoffnung und Unsicherheit über die Zukunft ihrer Präsenz in den jeweiligen Ländern.

Diese Messe hat mir den Eindruck vermittelt, dass die Christen, wo auch immer sie sind, in der Tat vereint sind. Vor allem, wenn es sich um Akte wie jenen in Bagdad handelt. Sie fühlen sich vereint und alle haben mit Trauer die Nachrichten aus Bagdad verfolgt und wollten sich gegenseitig sagen, dass wir bei den Christen des Irak sind.“

Am Ende der Heiligen Messe, nach der Verlesung der Botschaft des Präsidenten Abu Mazen, versammelte sich die Menge auf dem Hauptplatz der Stadt, vor der Geburtsbasilika, in den Händen Kerzen und Plakate, die jede Form des Terrorismus verurteilen.

Msgr. Grégoire Pierre Melki, Exarch des Patriarchats von Antiochien der Syrier: „Wir haben mit den Märtyrern gebetet, wir haben für die Verstorbenen gebetet, für ihre Kirchen, für ihre Familien. Aber wir haben auch ganz allgemein für alle Christen im Irak gebetet. Und wir haben nicht nur für die Christen, sondern auch für den Irak selber gebetet.“

Print Friendly
UA-15643972-1